Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
TL v58n4: History of the Sharon Library, Weakley County
Share |


Tennessee Libraries 

Volume 58 Number 4



 History of Sharon Library, Weakley County


Melba Wash

Betty Cannon

Barbara Dunlap


Sharon had the first bookmobile station in Weakley County. It was opened in 1943 in the city council room with volunteer custodians. Though called a library it was actually no more than a bookmobile station until December 1961. At this time a community library was opened in rented quarters with a paid librarian. A library board was appointed by the city and a small amount of financial help given but most funds were raised by a campaign. In the first full year of operation 5,410 books were circulated.

The regional demonstration project gave tremendous assistance to the library in 1964-1966 by paying the librarian's salary. After several moves the library finally located in a separate business building. More and better shelving and furniture were acquired and the hours of service increased from twelve to fifteen per week. Books were furnished entirely by the regional and county library, except for a few gift books . Today we own 3,877 books and have 2,201on loan from the Reelfoot Regional Library. Being a small library we use interlibrary loan frequently.

When the Gates Foundation Grants became available in 2000, computers were added to the library. Two City Board members donate their monthly salaries to the library which in turn is used toward technology. In July 2006 the library became fully automated . In July 2009 we became a public library.The by-laws and policies were updated by Betty Cannon and April Baker inAugust 2004.

Librarians who have served the people of Sharon are Mrs. Maurine Baker, Mrs. Ruth Jones, Mrs. Shirley Washburn, Mrs. Marlow Peters and at present Mrs. Barbara Dunlap.

Representatives from Sharon to the County Board over the years have been Mrs. May Fisher, Mrs. Mary Thomas Burton Dennis, Mrs. Robbie Ezell, Mrs. Maxine Owen, Mrs. Joyce Haworth, Mrs. Eulean Bell, Mrs. Frances Clark, Ms Mabel Taylor, Mrs. Janie Clark, and Mrs. Diane Robinson. Local board chairpersons were Mr. Bill Liggett, Mr. Howard Haworth, and Mr. Gordon Morris. Mrs. Betty Cannon is the present chairperson.

Local library board members through the years have been Mr. James Nooner, Mrs.April Baker, Mrs. Sara Robinson, Mrs. Mary Jo Connell, Mrs. Peggy Finch, Ms. Joyce Haworth, Ms. Pat Hamlin, Mrs. Faye Kendall,Mrs. Paula Morris, Mrs. Janie Clark, Mrs. Carla Simmons, Mr. Gordon Morris, Mr. Martin Hamlin and Mr. Howard Haworth.

Total circulation of materials during 2008 which included books, videos, DVDs, CDs and books on tape was 9609. Total attendance during 2008 was 9175.

Our library has always enjoyed participating in the state sponsored Summer Reading Programs. Much of the success of the Sharon Library is due to the assistance of the Reelfoot Regional Library staff.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal