Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Edwin S. Gleaves Scholarship
Share |

Dr. Edwin S. Gleaves was the Tennessee State Librarian and Archivist from 1987 until his retirement in 2005. Before that he served as the Director of the Peabody/Vanderbilt Library School 1967-1987. His work experience spans five decades and locales as varied as Washington state, Georgia, Tennessee, Colombia, Paraguay, Venezuela and Mexico. Dr. Gleaves also held a position as a Fulbright Program lecturer at the University of Costa Rica.

The Edwin S. Gleaves Scholarship, established in 2004, offers $1,500 annually to assist library and/or information science students with educational expenses such as tuition, books, or technology. To be eligible for the scholarship, an applicant:

  • Must be a member of the Tennessee Library Association
  • Must be a Tennessee resident
  • Must hold an undergraduate degree
  • Must be accepted or currently enrolled in a library or information science graduate program (Master’s Level) which has ALA or NCATE accreditation

2018-2019 Application


Scholarship Recipients

2007:        Maria Sochor
2008:        Lisa Meidl
2009:        Amber Conger
2010:        Lee Billings
2011:        Clayton Altom
2012:        Katy Justiss
2013:        Jennifer Lin
2014:        Andrew Grissom
2015:        Wesley Holloway
2016:        Kimberlee Byrge
2018:        Elaine Posanka
2019:        Chelsea Tarwater


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal